Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:40 p.m. - June 07, 2003
Thinking
I'm taking a break right now. I've been cleaning like mad--my dad applied to have the house refinanced by the bank because of the amazing mortage rates.

For those of you who know me persoally, you'll also know that I am one of the messiest people in the world. And knowing that this fella is going to look in my closet doesn't exactly make things better. So. Yeah. I've been cleaning. And I also have to tackle the bathroom, my least favorite room to clean.

Anyhow. little brother is a graduated person now. Ceremony would have been nice, had it not been for the people who kept cheering for their kids, even though the principal asked people to hold their applause and cheers till the end. It made it hard to hear the kids' names, and I think I missed a couple of my brother's friends because of the cheerers. Argh. That really annoyed me.

Next thing: I noticed the Friday Five is something that I don't think I can adequately answer. I mean, how do I say that I've been in love? I honestly cannot answer this.

But I will answer this:

What do I look for in a significant other?

Someone who is smart intellectually, so I can discuss politics, world affairs, and literature with. Someone who also has a silly side, so I can talk about fun movies and films with him. Someone who'll do silly things with me once in a while, like go to a sci-fi convention for the heck of it (I've never been to one). Someone who has a good sense of humor. It can be wacky, sarcastic, ironic, anything but the dumbed down kind that makes me want to slap him (ie, chauvinistic). Someone who likes to cook. Someone who likes to try new foods. Someone who wouldn't mind cooking with me. Someone with a great smile and a clear voice. Someone who likes art. Someone who likes good music (this being classical, folk, rock, anything but rap and heavy metal.) Someone who likes theater. Someone who'll support my beliefs. Someone who I can argue with without getting mad. Someone who's a good friend. Someone who is feminist. Someone who likes to read. Someone who notices little things. Someone considerate (who also does nice things for me, little things, just for no reason). Someone who trusts me. Someone who doesn't mind a little mess now and then. Someone who doesn't smoke. Someone who treats me as an equal. Someone who likes to talk. Someone who likes to listen. Someone taller than 5'7", but not too tall (because I don't want to lean back to be able to see his face all the time)and sort of lean. Someone who is really understanding. Someone really kind, trustworthy, and honest. Someone who also likes to shop, just to look at things, whether it's at Borders, Pier 1, the mall. Someone who likes to read For Better or For Worse, Crankshaft, Funky Winkerbean, and Fox Trot, or at least some comic strips. Someone who likes me for who I am. I can be a difficult person to love. I think. You tell me.

Anyone know anyone like this in my area? The scary thing is that this sounds sort of like one of my buddies. Yikes. Luckily for me, this buddy of mine has a long time girlfriend and lives on the west coast.

All I can think of is a guy from school, and my friends used to joke that I'd end up marrying him because I always ran into him. Furthermore, our lives sound like a romantic comedy: Boy hates girl, girl hates boy, they argue, they don't get along, they make fun of each other, but they really like each other, and the heavens transpire to make them fall in love. Anyway, I mentioned it to a classmate of mine (I think her name was Anne), and she said, "You know, I can't see you ever being with him because you take the time to notice things, and he doesn't. He hurrys through everything." And this was after she had known me for a few short weeks.

Funny thing is that the classmate of mine is actually sort of cute. And he does fulfill some of my hopes for a significant other.

As I watch things like Baby Story (this I saw while running on the treadmill in the fitness center), I wonder what my life will be like (and I am sure I'll debate long about raising a family. This is something I don't even know yet. Yeah, I want one. But the idea of raising kids really scares me, but not quite as much as giving birth. I am really terrified of both of those.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!