Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:47 p.m. - June 28, 2003
-
I loved it when I went to this upscale mall about an hour away from my house, wearing express jeans, carrying a coach purse, wearing my H&M shirt, and Payless shoes. I looked like I have money. Which I don't.

Anyway, we went to this upscale store that sells jewelry and purses called Brighton. Anyway, I think the salespeople saw that I was carrying a Coach purse and was dressed pretty nicely, and they sort of zeroed in on me, chatting to me, offering me a bottle of water and cookies, etc. It was just hysterical. Hee. I love it when people think I'm rich, even though I really only make minimum wage.

I want to go back and do the same in different stores and see if I get some select treatment. Maybe go back to that store and see if the water and cookies is an usual thing.

And oooh. They're opening a Cheesecake Factory by this mall. I am so happy. I'll go ahead and drive down there (or up there) and get my cheesecakes. Mmmmmm.

I may be getting my chance to drive up to that area more than I think--here's my news. I got an assistantship which is pretty good. I'll be traveling around the northeastern part of the state and doing early intervention work. It's a heck of a lot more work, but it is going to pay off in the future. I was thinking to myself this morning that if I were in the business world, I'd be climbing that corporate ladder as quickly as I could. That is the way I am. Even now, in this particular health-related field, I'm more of a power person, om the up-and-up type of person.

Also: I caved. I bought a pair of chinos from J.Crew. For those of you who know me pretty well, I tend to be a little rebellious against the fashion norms. I'm still conservative, yes, but I wear more stuff that makes me look more unique. But I caved. Something about clinic and not having enough dress clothes for the summer. Sigh. I'm becoming a conformity drone.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!