Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:33 p.m. - July 22, 2003
More details
Regarding the flood: The waters receded late last night. So without further ado, I went off to Akron to take my exam. Please do not ask me how it went. I think it went every way but well.

Anyway, I took pictures of the flood--and I don't have digital, so when I get my pictures developed, I'll try and post a couple of them somewhere.

Anyway, details about the flood. I live by a lovely pond. It started to fill up pretty quickly with brown water, and then it crept up the banks of the pond, and then rivers of brown water cascaded down the street in a resemblance of white waters. And then the pond started overflowing into the street, and still more river of my street, and then some cars got stuck in the water. I stuck to the window, my notes far away from my mind, watching the water run and run and crest and do all sorts of wild things it should not do in suburbia. After a while, it stopped raining.

I made quite a few frantic phone calls last night, too. Some to Ann Arbor (hi Beth), some to PA, some to my friend, who lives 20 minutes from my house (no flooding in her neighborhood)...etc. It was wild. My parents got stuck at work, little bro got stuck in Montrose at Borders for like, 6 hours or something...lots of people stuck everywhere.

I was planning to head up to cleveland today for a museum visit, but well, with the weather that freaked me out yesterday, I'm almost tempted to wait for a nice sunny day to spend inside an air conditioned place, to look at paintings.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!