Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:37 p.m. - October 11, 2004
Christopher
This morning, I found out that Christopher Reeve died yesterday. I didn't want to believe it, but it's true. I think for me, it's hard to believe because he fought so hard and wanted to live his life to the fullest--and of course, he had the strongest conviction that he would walk again.

So over the past several years, he managed to convince me that he would definetely be able to walk again, because of his hope, certainty and conviction. And of course, I hoped that he'd be on CNN one day, taking a tentative step--offering hope and encouragement to many others who have disabilities.

I'm not going to touch on the whole "he's superman, he can't die" thing--but instead, I wish he had been able to walk once before he died.

I remember I saw him give a speech a year or so after his accident, and it truly was one of the most powerful and uplifting speeches one could hear. He spoke about hope, and he spoke about how people with disabilities could do things--they were not bound by their disabilities. His optimism was infectious, and I don't think I'll forget that.

********************
I'll be gone this week. I'll be in Arizona. I hate how my suitcase is so big--I've got both business-like and casual clothing in my suitcase. It's just huge. I hate that. And i hate warm weather.

What can I say? I'm weird...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!