Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:10 p.m. - January 04, 2005
Retrospective
I spent New Year's in NYC. Never made it to Times Square, because my friend has no common sense (first of all, would you arrive at Penn Station on NEW YEAR'S EVE at 7:30 PM? And the train was 1.5 hours late? And knowing we'd have to take subways back to Brooklyn, and then go back to Manhattan?) Duh.

We celebrated in Central Park instead. I wanna go back and do the New Years celebration RIGHT next time. That is, in Times Square, even if I freeze my ass off.

Anyway, I kept missing B. while I was in NYC. Oh well.

Anyway, from Alison: 2004 in review.


1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

Lots of things. Knew I was in love. Got my heart broken. Went elsewhere for New Years, instead of staying home with my family.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don't think I kept a lot of my resolutions, but this year, I'm keeping mine simple. (1) Become myself again. (2) Make new friends. None of the crazy crap about learning to do stuff like decorate cakes that are worthy of Gourmet covers.


3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

One of my friends from my Fulbright year gave birth in September.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. I traveled to Salt Lake City, Tucson, and New York, though.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

Hmm. More friends. I want to have happiness again, especially since the last 2.5 months have just been crapola.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Sorry to be so negative...but...it is the date in October when B. dumped me. October 23.


8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I do not know. I have to think about that a bit.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Hmm. I don't know. Feeling crappy? I don't know.


10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Only those times when I got sick like crazy. I mean, like the things like when I got the flu, ear infection, eye infection, etc.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
Clothes in New York, for sure!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
Hmm. Let me think about this one first...

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Brian's decision to brake up with me, oi course, and the decisions of the right-wing religious extremists who voted Bush right back into office.


14. Where did most of your money go?
Food. I ate out a lot or cooked things.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Finding a place that has ensaymadas in Cleveland. Actually, it's in Parma Heights.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

"Angel/Asshole" by Jill Sobule, and "My Immortal" by Evanescence

i. Compared to this time last year, are you: Happier or sadder?
sadder

iii. thinner or fatter?
Thinner. (I lost 15 pounds in less than 2 months, in case you wondered.)

iii. richer or poorer?

Richer

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Been more upfront and less fearful of things.


19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Crying

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

This past Christmas, no one was in a celebratory mood, so we just let it slide by like any other day of the year. No celebration. Picked up dad from the airport. Came home. moped a bit. This year, I want Christmas to be a fantastic affair, filled with the joy that was missing last year.


22. Did you fall in love in 2004?
Yes--or rather, I should say, that I knew without a doubt that I was completely and utterly in love.

23. How many one-night stands?
None

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Scrubs and Desperate Housewives


25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Np, but I am less fond of someone in my major because he's very irresponsible and is a glory hog.

26. What was the best book you read?
I am not certain...hmm. The DaVinci Code, I think

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I am not sure that I "discovered" anyone but I really did start liking Evanescence.

28. What did you want and get?
Clothes from H&M

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and Goodbye, Lenin!

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I went out for dinner with Brian and my family. I turned 25.

32. What's one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Not having Brian tell me, "It's not you, it's me. I don't love you, blah blah blah, I just want to be friends"

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?
Same as usual--casual fun, but also dressy for clinic.

34. What kept you sane?
before breakup: Brian. After breakup: Everybody Loves Raymond reruns, my family, friends, and my counselor.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
I am not sure. I don't think there's any that I fancy...

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
The mudslinging in the 2004 election, and the general stupidity of people who voted for Bush because they are scared of gay marriage.

37. Who did you miss?
Brian

38. Who was the best new person you met?
Staci--my new friend.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:

Breakups can really suck, especially if you really love the guy, and he doesn't, but he also became the very best friend you've ever had...and you've also become the best friend he's ever had...it really majorly sucks. As I mentioned several entries ago: "I have learned that falling in love with someone is one of the most amazing and magical things that can happen. But I've also learned that sometimes my love isn't enough; the other person has to be able to love you as well for the relationship to work."

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

Everybody go

the party�s over

I want to be alone

in my head

in my bed tonight

you never showed

you must really love her

you think I don�t know

but I do

yeah it�s true

I think over is over

I�m right back where I started

When it comes to wanting you

I can�t have what I wanted

But I did

I can

I was

I am

only human

living, dying

just like any fool who ever breathed

If love is blind

if love�s a drug

it always is

it always was

and love was surely made for fools
like me

I know where I�m going

I�m tripping

I�m sliding around

that�s okay

at least I�m exited

It wasn�t how I planned it

(least I understand it now)

My feet are where I landed

(my feet landed on the ground)

But I did

I can

I was

I am

only human

living, dying

just like any fool who ever breathed

If love is blind

if loves a drug

it always is

it always was

and love was surely made for fools
like me

Fools like me

Maybe it�s the sanest thing

or just the sweetest kind of dream

but love was surely made for fools
like me.

"Fools Like Me" by Lisa Loeb

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!