Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:18 p.m. - June 28, 2002
Friday Five
I'm no longer a Friday Five virgin!

Here goes nothing:

When was the last time you:

1. ...sent a handwritten letter? Last week. I wrote a letter to put in a mail art envelope--sent it to Tiina. I'm hoping she'll get it okay. I'm a letter fiend; I love writing letters and getting answers. As good as email is, there's nothing like the exhileration of getting something in the mail.

2. ...baked something from scratch or made something by hand? June 18 was the last time I made something from scratch--rather, baking. I made a cheesecake. Anyway, I do a lot of my own cooking, lately from scratch, but I rarely bake things since my specialties are main dishes and appetizers.

3. ...camped in a tent? I think I may have been 13 years old. Maybe 12. We camped out in our backyard because my cousins, who were visiting, had never slept in a tent before and wanted to sleep in our tent.

4. ...volunteered your time to church, school, or community? Last year. I volunteered all the time when I was still in college. I am a co-founder and was a co-president of a volunteer organization in the city where my college was located. In case you're wondering, our group was made up of tutors, mentors, and helpers for the Wayne County Children Services. I am proud to say that our volunteer group was fabulous and made a huge difference in the community.

5. ...helped a stranger? I don't know. I offered to help someone carry her packages yesterday. Does that count?

I don't have much else to say today. Only that Luana is coming on Sunday at 6:30 AM, and I spent a few hours cleaning my room, kitchen, and bathroom. I also went grocery shopping, and skipped museum-hopping today because I thought Luana was going to call me. So I decided to stay home just in case she did. (She emailed me).

So tomorrow is a museum and movie. I've got to decide what movie, though: either Bella Martha, Hannah and her Sisters, or Lilo and Stich.

Also today I made the profound realization that I'll be in Germany for about two more weeks. A little more. I'm trying not to panic. As I told one of my friends, I can't believe that it's nearly time for me to leave, because I haven't seen all the museums in Munich, nor have I done everything that I want to do while here in Europe. That part makes me sad.

I'm actually starting to get really bittersweet feelings about going home. I think after a point, I started feeling like I'm at home here, though I know it's not my home because I belong in Ohio.

As much as I look forward to going home, eating the foods I miss, seeing videos in English, watching Whose Line is It, Anyway?, Star Trek: Enterprise, and seeing my friends, a part of me will be sad to leave Munich. I'll miss the fact that this place throbs with art and culture, and that there's always thants to do, and that my German will never be better. I will miss the friends I have made here and I will miss the Alpine view from my room.

I'm sure you'll be hearing more about this in the following days.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!