Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:31 p.m. - July 12, 2002
My other half
I love being one of those girls who comes off as being so sweet and innocent. Then wham! I'm sly and sneaky. I was reminded of this last night when I met my friend, Maggie, for a farewell get-together. I misunderstood her, so we waited in two different places for half an hour, till we figured out where we actually were. We ended up going to Wolkenlos for food and drinks instead of going to the open-air festival, because we didn't really have time to go. Well, we both ordered things with chicken or turkey in them, only to be told by the waitress that the place was out of turkey and chicken, so we also had a choice of beef foods or vegetarian foods. We went the vegetarian route, and my goodness, neither Maggie nor I were expecting huge plates piled with food, which neither of us could finish.

Anyway, during the course of the night, we recounted some of our experiences, and I explained to her why I didn't like one of the other girls in my language course so much; she drove me nuts when we went to Vienna together. Basically, when we first started out, we each picked several places we wanted to go to; we decided that each of us would get a museum, some memorials, etc. I was fair game for everything, but the Beethoven memorial was non-negotiable for me; he's one of the dead people I admire so much. That sort of thing. Well, Jae is really self-centered and after a while, started whining about the Beethoven thing. This started ticking me off because traveling is also about sharing experiences, compromising (this is why I have a great time traveling with Kelly. Both of us get to do things we want to do, and we tag along on things the other wants to do (ie, hiking)).

Well, it got to the point where Jae started taking over the show, and we were a stone's throw away from the Beethoven memorial and she started whining about it ("well, I don't know if it's worth it, because that lady said it was a house".) so I snapped at her and said, "Fine, I'll see it the next time I come to Vienna." So she reluctantly tagged along, and lo and behold, the Beethoven memorial was this huge statue of the musician's likeness looking down at passersby. Frankly I was too mad to really appreciate it, and what made me madder was that Jae said, "Ohh, that's so nice. I think I want a picture of it..."

Now, after that...she dragged me to this boring museum (the whole day had been pretty much "what Jae wants to do")...and after that, I stopped at this exhibit and said, "Oh, I really want to see that..." even though I really didn't want to.

But as you know, revenge is a dish best served cold.

So for forty-five minutes, I made Jae visit the armor museum with me and gushed over the various styles and designs of armor and weaponry.

Golly, I am evil.

Maggie laughed so hard and told me, "I never thought you were capable of that!" And today, I got an email from Maggie, and she said, "And definately keep that sly side of you that tortures people in the Armor Museum!"

I plan on doing so. Tee-hee. When I get mad, I either blow up or I get even. Getting even is a lot more fun, I do have to say. Maggie said she's going to keep my revenge in mind, just in case someone does the same thing Jae did to me.

Now, I'm back to being a nice girl today, so I've been getting chocolates for my friends, and I found a CD for one of my friends (who also minored in German.) She's this big country western fan, and I was walking by some sales racks at Karstadt or Kaufhof, and saw this CD by a band called "Truck Stop". Well, these are German guys wearing cowboy hats, jeans, cowboy boots, the whole country-western getup, and they are a country-western band, but with one difference. They sing in German.

Gosh, my friend is so going to kill me.

Oh, continuing the Vienna thing. Perhaps this is only why we stayed at the armor museum for forty-five minutes instead of several hours, which I would have preferred...

7 January 2002: "Tonight I remembered an experience I had in Vienna. Nearly forgot. But in the writing of emails to friends--well, I remembered that as I was walking through a room of armor, I all of a sudden felt like I walked through a wall of SOMETHING--my skin pricked and I felt almost nauseous. I still don't know what that was, but I thought I'd write it before I forgot."

Note: my friends and I were emailing each other about the existence of ghosts. I'm one of those people who believes in them. So at some level, I wonder if there was a lost spirit, soul, or ghost hanging around the armor. All I have to say is: it felt absolutely horrible. And it certainly was unexpected.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!