Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:20 p.m. - August 13, 2002
Will I never stop being the Energizer bunny?
So...in the span of two days, way too much happens. I come home tired and exhausted. Too exhausted to even write in my paper journal, too...

But these are some of the things that happened. On Monday, I went to Mike's funeral--so many people showed up. One of the people who showed up was an English and Drama teacher from high school, another was a Girl Scout leader that I had when I was in first grade. Amazingly, I got the teacher's name wrong, and I couldn't remember my leader's name. I had to go up to her and ask who she was.

Dad told me later that she was the one who taught the troop to say, "How many boxes of cookies do you want" instead of asking if they wanted to buy cookies. He didn't like her for that, and neither did mom, so I transferred to another troop (Troop 303), where I stayed happily for the next seven years, happy to be with friends instead of counting patches. I dropped out after we merged with two other girl scout troops, which had leaders who were into the patch counting, cookie selling, corporate Girl Scouting. It stopped being fun at that point, and I was sad to leave, because my friends were Girl Scouts for another year or so...

Even though Girl Scouts is really a way to train young, impressionable girls to be money-grubbing, corporate drones with only dollar signs in their minds, I really love those Thin Mint cookies.

Anyway. I also saw a classmate of mine from High school. I dreamed of seeing a certain Ben at the funeral. Well, there was a different Ben there. But that's fine. I spent time trying to figure out if it was or wasn't, and it was...and he remembered my name, which startled me. I always thought I was a wallflower, but perhaps I am wrong and I made a deeper impact on my classmates (I always knew that my teachers remember me).

During the funeral, I saw the people packed into the church and had the morbid thought that if I were to die, how many people would show up, and who? Obviously my best friends, and my mom's best friends, but who else? I'm not certain.

After the funeral, I came home for a few minutes, changed into jeans, and went out with my dad to run some errands and to get a new program on my cochlear implant processor and to get my behind-the-ear cochlear implant processor programmed. So right now, it looks like I'm wearing a hearing aid instead of a small box (about the size of an overlarge pager) on my waistband.) Yes! Of course, the battery life is horrible (rechargeables, the individual batteries last about two hours each, because I seem to require more power, arr! arr!)

I bumped a banged-up car in the parking lot. My mom tells me that our little red Taurus likes to hit other cars and objects.

Tomorrow I'm off to Pennsylvania and Virginia for a week. My friend, Sarah, is getting married in a podunk town in Virginia. So I'm going to State College to visit one friend of mine (Jill) and then Jill and I are driving down to Virginia to help out Sarah with her wedding preparations and to see her tie the knot. I'm a little scared about this whole thing, not the travel part, but the whole part where a 23 year old person gets (gulp) married. Especially since I think she's not ready for marriage...there's just too much to go into, but let's just say that her personality seems to be half-formed and not quite mature enough...even though she loves Russ very much and they are extremely devoted to each other...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!