Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:17 p.m. - September 14, 2002
Mysteries
Whew.

Today, I could have, and probably should have, studied and read stuff for audiology: anatomy (ugh), hearing science, worked on designing worksheets for my hearing aid orientation (counseling) session, read stuff for amplification, and worked on my research methods worksheets...

Instead, I blew it off and went shopping with mom, which was nice. We had a great time just looking at stuff and buying a few things. I bought a funky bracelet with vintage pictures of them (if I had a link to similar bracelets, I'd link to that). I also ended up with a denim jacket and a winter coat, along with some new rugs for my brother's and my bathroom.

Anyway, yesterday I got a random check from the university. I have no idea what it's for--something close to $1,200 which is nice. But part of me is freaking out because I honestly do not know what it's for.

At first, I thought that maybe my parents went ahead and paid for my remaining tuition, because they said I'd help out (since I only have about $200 in my bank account at the moment). I received a new scholarship/assistantship thing, where I get something like $168 every two weeks, so at first, I thought it was for that. So my dad and I went and calculated how much it would be, but it doesn't add up.

In the end, I have no tuition to pay for, since my mom didn't pay for it yet, and I checked my balance online, and it says I owe nothing. I don't even have to pay for my parking pass, which I think is weird, because with an assistantship, you're really supposed to pay $20. But I'm not complaining. So I am completely baffled by all of this.

Any theories?

My brother is trying out for the senior class play. He needs to adopt a British accent, so he's trying to learn how to speak with clipped tones and sounds by Monday, when the audition is. He's even willing to watch all these movies like Ever After, The Sound of Music, My Fair Lady (that is, if I can locate my copy), Gosford Park and listen to books on tape, like The Secret Garden (read aloud by Helena Bonham-Carter). It's great to see that desperation is making my brother do things like this.

The fact that my brother is starting to be in the performing arts is sort of neat to me. Last year, he tried out for the show choir, got in--I think because at the time, he had a crush on one of the girls in the choir (one of his best friends. And he always told me he'd never be in that choir because he hates to dance). He tried out for the acapella choir, got in...and now he's going for the senior class play...and I hope he can get a role. I think it will be hard for him, because he's not good with accents. So I'm trying.

But to me, it's sort of funny to try, because I'm not exactly very good with British accents, either. But I am telling him some of the phonetic differences in the language. Now, if he was seeking a German accent, I'd coach him. Not a problem there...

I'm crossing my fingers for the boy.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!