Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:57 p.m. - September 17, 2002
Hundred Year Eggs
Remember that poet/novelist I ran into at Borders last week? Well, after a few days, I decided to write a nice, short email thanking him for telling me about Rumi and Hafiz. Well, one thing I forgot is that the signature line for my email is:

The love of my beloved is on yonder side
A width of water is between us
And a crocodile waiteth on the sandbank

This is from an ancient Egyptian poem from the New Kingdom; it resonated within me when I first read it (in the novel, Crocodile on the Sandbank. Ironically, I have been rereading this book over the past few days and falling in love with it all over again.)

Anyway, this is what the author wrote to me:

How wonderful to hear from you! I liked the Egyptian love poem it was sexy with a touch of touching violence! I want to read some of my love poems for you.

I believe in primacy of matter too. Food before poems! what could we do without food and oxygen? Please be in touch.
Once I met a fire
at Borders
even the "water" in between
could not put out.

For some reason, this email made me want to run away. Far away. Or at least hide underneath my desk, claim that I've had a boyfriend for the last ten years or something. Even if I'm still one of those single people who despairs of becoming Ally McBeal, but not quite as neurotic.

I think it's time to change that signature line. However, I'm so attached to it because I think it reverberates throughout me, and for as practical and pragmatic and down-to-earth as I am, there's still a part of me that is very sentimental and practically swoons when she reads stuff like the aforemented poem.

Oh, by the way, I never will share a love poem I wrote with this guy. I think that would freak me out too much. But I wouldn't have a problem sharing it with my old crush, who is a poetry major. Even if I'm still somewhat attracted to him. But I think I wouldn't mind sharing with the latter person, because we're friends, and there's things we know about each other, while the novelist is a stranger...

There's just so much poetry can reveal, and so much that sometimes you don't want people to know, or don't want to share with the wrong person...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!