Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:56 p.m. - November 13, 2002
Quizzes and Tests
I suppose I should have a semi-real entry.

I got my exam back--it was what I expected; I got a B--which is exactly what I thought I would get. I mean, I knew I didn't do hot but I did okay.

The best part, though, was BSing through the entire last essay question, not knowing what the heck central or peripheral masking were, and then getting one point taken off! Now, that was just cool.

Yesterday, I was in the grad room, preparing for my scheduled client, filling out all the forms and so on. Then I decided that i really had to go to the bathroom, so I walked out of the grad room.

Outside of the grad room is a little corner with two well-worn pink armchairs and a small endtable with a lamp sitting on it. I'm not sure who put it out there--it's sort of random, considering that most of the buidlign has fake wood carrels.

Anyway, the custodian was plopped down on an armchair, his mop and bucket next to him. He looked startled to see me, as I did.

Recovering quickly, I asked, "Busy day?"

He answered, "I'm tired."

"I can tell."

"Those stairs," he pointed toward the staircase, "are so hard to clean."

"I can imagine."

He looked at the door from whence I came, and he asked, "Are you working there?"

"Well," I replied. "I'm an audiology student."

He rose out of his seat and started pushing his mop and bucket down the hall, talking to me all the while. "How's that going?"

"Well, it's a lot of work. We have class, then we have lab and clinic. Then we have to write reports for the clients."

"You have to write reports?"

"Yeah. After we see a client, we have to write stuff like, 'Mrs. Smith came to the clinic and has this type of hearing loss', and then we have to write about what we did."

"Wow. I used to write reports all the time."

I thought to myself, 'reports?'

He continued, "I used to be computer analyst for 25 years. I quit because it was just too stressful."

By this time, I'm outside of the women's bathroom, and he continued pushing his bucket, and he said, "Well, have a good day."

I swear, I have the most interesting conversations with old men.


I'm completely down-to-earth!

Find your soul type at kelly.moranweb.com.

And because I love fairy tales...


I am Little Red Riding Hood!

Find your fairy tale character at kelly.moranweb.com.


I am the invisible Bobert!

Find your whimsy character at kelly.moranweb.com.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!