Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:27 p.m. - December 01, 2002
Read any good books lately?
Librarian
Which Ultimate Beautiful Woman are You?

brought to you by Quizilla

Thanks, Alison.

Honestly, I was taken aback by this Hell's Librarian thing. Granted, I like books, and I'm always recommending books to people, but this is just...funny.

Right now, the only book I'm reading is the Handbook of Clinical Audiology. What fun. It's my own version of Hell.

And surprisingly, I have not been in the mood to read an actual book, though it's a holiday weekend--The Grey Beginning is still on my bookshelf. It's almost as if I can't get excited about reading anything fictional, unless it's about 20 pages long. I guess grad school's still got a good grip on my heart and has my sense of fun and relaxation under lock and key.

That didn't stop me from watching lots of movies and tv shows and specials on tv this weekend, though. Here's a rundown and short reviews of each.

1) Shallow Hal This movie is not as bad as it may appear. Surprisingly, it's a very sensitive movie that doesn't make fun of people who are overweight. Seriously. It's more painful for me to watch Never Been Kissed

2) Walk To Remember Quite good. The movie is sweet, sentimental and sappy. But it's really quite good. And it's so refreshing to see a teen-ish love story that doesn't have wild sex, wild parties, and teens getting revenge on people. These teens in the movie actually talk which is rather refreshing, because I seem to remember talking a lot in my high school days about my idealistic dreams. And I didn't date.

3) Changing Places Since I saw this in Germany, which meant it was dubbed over, I thought it'd be nice to know what the people were actually saying. Pretty funny, though I am sorry to say I didn't understand a lot of the stock/commodities market stuff at the end. But I guess the movie was made either during the yuppie years or after the yuppie years.

4) Part of A Christmas Story The story to end all Christmas stories, simply by being such an anti-schmalzy movie (see Miracle on 34th St., It's a Wonderful Life, etc.) And nothing like the part where Ralphie gets his mouth cleaned out with soap. Or the poor little brother in that snowsuit. You know what? I actually saw this movie when it first came out. I still remember maybe two scenes: the snowsuit and the triple dog dare. That's all I remember from the movie, and the tremendous amount of noise in the theater, as everyone laughed themselves silly. I must have been 5 when the movie came out.

5) Part of It Could Happen to You Boy, that Rosie Perez is a good actress. She made me hate her. But what would you do if you split your lottery ticket with a stranger and the ticket won? Would you keep your promise or just keep the money?

6)Some Suzanne Somers lifetime movie, where she's a drunk. It was okay. I mean, it's a TV Movie...

7) Jumanji Hated the book when I was a kid. Still hate the book. I don't know what to think of the movie, except that it's pretty scary to be a kid's movie. The jury is out on whether i'd be frightened by the movie, had I seen it when I was 9 years old. I doubt it, though...And I'd never want to play that game if it were real. I mean, anytime there's a game with pieces that just stick to the board and don't want to come off till you roll the dice...eek. I'd be the one saying, "I have spend 2,000 hours in therapy!"

8) The last half hour of a Fred and Ginger movie--I think it must have been Shall We Dance? (not to be confused with the excellent Japanese movie.) I don't know, cause I missed just about everything but the ending. So I'm not sure what the story was, but the dancing was great. ;)

I also watched Monk and Nero Wolfe.

Today, I am going to study till 4 PM, and watch Wait till Dark -- that is, if it is closed captioned. I hope it is. I love Audrey Hepburn, and it'd be a great way to sign away my life till finals are over (finals begin next week). These next two weeks will be awful, what with too much to study and re-learn and learn all over again.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!