Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:47 p.m. - August 08, 2003
-
Well, still haven't heard from Todd, except for a couple times when I IMed him. He doesn't appear to have checked his email for the past week. Gotta love that AOL feature for checking up on whether people have read your emails. So I'll take it easy for a bit longer, and truthfully? I feel okay about it.

Anyway, I was in Colorado all week (and part of last week.) It was incredible. We had workshops and plenty of free time, too--and I was in a ski resort outside of Denver, and it was absolutely gorgeous. Mountains everywhere, reaching up into the sky, into the clouds. I love mountains. There was one day that half the people went on a white water rafting trip, and I didn't want to go, so I went hiking instead. We drove to Loveless or maybe it's Loveland? pass, and hiked to the summit of the mountain, which was hard because of the thin atmosphere, and breathing was a challenge. But was it ever worth it when I got to the top, even though I was freezing right through my zip-up pullover and my head bandana. I felt so proud of myself for even trying, since I'm not exactly Miss Hiking Outdoors girl. It was one of the best things I've ever done. We also went horseback riding through the woods, which was terrific. Of course, I have a scabby knee now--even though I was wearing long pants, Dunny managed to get some skin off. He walked really close to a tree and I scraped my knee on the bark. Ouch. It still hurts like crazy--i can't wear pants that are fitted about the knees, otherwise it just hurts.

What else? Oh wow. Lots of things...met tons of people, took tons of pictures, thought a lot, had a few odd dreams, jogged in the early mornings, went to the workshops...just so much I've done...and I'm ready to go back and tackle another mountain.

Oh, book recommendation, thanks to Todd. "Pilgrim at Tinker Creek" by Annie Dillard. Read it. It's so beautiful--it's a nonfiction book, and it just reminds me what a beautiful place the world can be...if you go to Borders, it is in the nature section. Check it out. Read it. Mull it over. Take the words to heart. It's gorgeous. And then, when done, read either "The Writing Life" or "An American Childhood" by Annie Dillard, too. They're beautiful, too.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!