Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:27 p.m. - September 07, 2002
Peace, Love, and Happiness
There's nothing like small things relating to friendship to make everything seem brighter and more joyful, more hopeful.

Cheesy, isn't it?

I found out today that an old friend of mine--she and I were in a creative writing camp "way back when"...in the summer between my freshman and sophomore year of high school, and kept in touch throughout high school. We ended up at the same college for different reasons and kept in semi-contact there.

Over the last year, we were awful about writing to each other. I jotted off a quick e-mail yesterday so I could get her address and write an actual letter. She e-mailed me back with her new address--and it's about 10 minutes away from my house! Wowza! I am so excited! I'm starting to discover the joy or renewing and restarting, reinventing old friendships and making them all new again. I love it.

And I wrote a letter a few weeks ago to an old friend of mine from California--when I was fifteen, or maybe sixteen, we met each other on our European Capitals tour, and hit it off, for whatever reason. We wrote to one another, and somehow, fell out of touch when I was in college. While in Germany, I kept wanting to write to her, but I didn't know her address.

When I came home, I wrote a letter to her and hoped that it was going to the right address--I sent it to what I thought was her parents' address. Obviously, it was the right address and I got a response back...it made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside to realize that she still remembers who I am and that we probably still thought of each other...

I have the warm fuzzies now. Nothing better ruin it. I love it when I feel this way--and I won the bids I put out on e-bay for trashy pulp fiction--books called, The Girl Who Invented Sex, Dormitory Girls, and Lingerie Ltd.. I am so pleased.

Plus, today was a good day at work--we were busy for about three hours straight, and people just kept spending a lot of money. This makes me happy. Oh, and we had a customer who never knew our store was there--and he's lived in the city forever, and our store is approaching its 17th anniversary.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!