Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:26 p.m. - November 18, 2002
Some like it hot
One thing that was great about today was that when I checked the mail tonight at 7 PM, I found a package addressed to me.

"Huh?" I thought to myself. I knew I ordered one skein of yarn yesterday, but I knew it wasn't going to come in a small, slightly heavy box, a little larger than a box of brand new checks.

And since I have enough checks to last me a lifetime, I knew they weren't new checks.

It was from amazon.com. I tried to recall ordering anything from amazon.com, accidentally or on purpose, and I opened it. My own copy of Some Like It Hot from my Secret Santa (this is one of those diaryland rings--I know some of you would be interested--just look for "secretsanta" on the rings pages.

I am so pleased.

Of course, I want to watch it now but I have to study tomorrow.

Getting this video in the mail almost makes up for the required exam and my professor's comment today.

See, the audiology program at the university is transitioning from a master's program to a doctoral program (AuD) and this is the last year we can have a master's program. Since we're all enrolled as master's students, we can have a master's degree (2 years) or get a doctorate (3 years). So most of us were thinking about the doctorate and have been planning for it (coursework). Then he said, "Well, when the next semester begins, we'll decide if the AuD program is best for you."

I think everyone in the class nearly had a heart attack, except for maybe Bob, because he always gets A's and A+'s. And he doesn't ever take notes. I don't get it. I study for two weeks and I struggle through exams.

Enough of that.

But seriously, I felt like this cold hand gripped my heart and started squeezing. Not be in the AuD program?

So I have to get good grades this semester. Augh.

Plus, I need to make it through this program because I need a job in the future.

Plus I have been thinking about a PhD. Someday.

Life would be so easy if there were no exams, though...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!