Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:40 p.m. - December 08, 2002
What I do when I should be studying
I'm trying to decide whether it's more prudent to (a) sleep or (b) read a few more chapters in my textbook.

It's a hard one to make.

My finals are on Tuesday and Friday of this week, in addition to a take-home that is due on Wednesday, but I will turn in on Tuesday so I don't have to be at the University if I don't have to.

And I find it harder and harder to sit down and study--I feel like I have Senior Fever, bitten once again by the restlessness and desire to just finish everything and be done with it all.

That is what I want.

I want to be finished with finals, and I want my degree already. I hate to study and I hate exams.

But I've already been planning what I will do when the semester is finally over, and here is my list:

1) Read The Grey Beginning by Barbara Michaels, The Vertigo Murders, Le Liasons Dangereux(?), The Luneberg Variation, The Blind Assassin, Museum at Purgatory and so on.

2) Watch Happenstance, Chicago when it comes out, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Nemesis, Tampopo, Three Seasons, and Lilo and Stich.

3) Go Christmas shopping!

4) Finish making scarves for friends. So far I have three finished, one almost finished (a few more rows), and one that I'm debating whether or not to keep (it's pretty)...

5) Write my Christmas cards. I have maybe three of them written. I hate just signing my name in cards--I like to write short notes (or long ones, depending on the person) to make it seem more personal. And that's why it takes me forever to finish writing cards.

6) Put together my Germany 2001-2002 scrapbook. And while I'm at it, I will finish up the College of Wooster scrapbook--All I have left is graduation stuff and a few newspaper articles written about me.

7) Learn to juggle.

8) Cook a huge Christmas dinner and go wild with making cookies and various dessert products.

9) Turn my 170 page long thesis into a measly 15 page long journal article.

10) Write a few articles in German for my favorite group of people with hearing loss in Germany.

11) Read a few German books.

12) Actually finish up collecting data for my comparison study between US and Germany.

13) Play The Sims.

14) Sew.

15) Practice playing guitar. I haven't done that for a long, long time.

16)Work.

17) Figure out how to knit socks.

18) Learn to crochet.

And did I mention that I have a month to do all this?

I can dream...

But I am sure I'll read and watch lots of TV and I have to finish those darned scarves!

I think I'm going to read one chapter, then go to bed. Yeah. Then I will wake up early tomorrow to finish my take-home exam, then I will finish studying, and I will try not to panic.

(Why do I seem to be hearing lines from The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy just about now?)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!