Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:34 p.m. - December 10, 2002
It's (almost) over
For some reason...."It's Over" is running through my head.

Could it be because I have finished two exams? Turned in my take-home exam today, and I took my advanced clinical testing exam today--it took me forever, and I was checking and re-checking my answers, and pretty soon all my responses began to swim in my eyes, to blur on the pages.

Then I decided that I had enough.

But I am glad it's over. Maybe from tonight on, I won't have dreams with this particular professor in them. (One, he randomly walked through my dream as I was Christmas shopping in Belden, and the other was a long, complicated dream involving tympanometry--a test of middle ear function. It's probably funnier if you actually know the professor, so I won't bother sharing unless you want me to).

And oh, I got an "A" for my group counseling sessions--why does this not surprise me? And yeah, it was a perfect "A", too, so now I get bragging rights. And I know I'm getting an "A" in one class. The other three, well, those are to be determined at a later date, but I'll let you know, eh?

And to treat myself for getting through two exams, I bought some pretty yarn to make into a scarf for a friend. So that will make five scarves, and I need two or three more. Hmm. My money is going to the yarn store--somehow, I like the idea of making a lot of my own gifts this year, rather than buying them all. Plus, knitting really is such a great stress reliever.

I have to try not to knit till Friday night, because I still have one exam I have not studied for yet. Which reminds me. I have to print out notes for the last section of that class, so I can study. Sigh.

It's moments such as these when I wonder why the heck I'm in graduate school. I really hate to study.

It's Over by Lisa Loeb and Nine Stories

Sorry sir, I stole your money.
Sorry sir, I feel,
but it's so, so twisted,
so unreal.

It was what I'd heard of
and what I didn't have,
but I cannot give what I do not have,
and I cannot take what I do not have.
I can't take it.

Don't stultify.
Don't hold me high.

Don't stultify.
Don't hold me high.

Too many things held precious,
too many things held dear;
that's what I hate,
that's what I fear.
Too much to ask for
may leave me feeling lonely.
Too little leaves me nothing, nothing.

The drone in your voice, and the fly on the wall said,
"It's over, it's over, it's over, it is."
What do I wish for you, what do I wish?
It's over, it's over, it is.

Are we still solemn and bleeding?
Are we still swimming to water that was wet?
You can't give away certain things that you get.

From the outside
to the inside

I couldn't tell you how it really was.
There has to be more on one hand,
keep your head above water on the other, the other.

The drone in your voice, and the fly on the wall said,
"It's over, it's over, it's over, it is "
What do I wish for you, what do I wish?
It's over, it's over, it is.

Are we still solemn and bleeding?
Are we still swimming to water that was already wet?
I can forgive, but I can't forget.
I'll wish for you,
I'll plead and I'll steal.
Hold me precious, hold me dear.
I'll wish for you,

I'll sing and I'll feel.
Don't stultify, don't hold me high.

Like a Gothic staple, a last good-bye,
one way to float is if you die.
And it's over, it's over, it's over.

It's over, it's over, it's over
It's over, it's over.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!