Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:37 a.m. - January 08, 2003
Thoughts
Right now, I'm also chatting with a friend of mine, so I may have temporary lapses in memory (and maybe judgment?)

Anyway, I know there wasn't much exciting today--just my dermatologist appointment, a drive to the university to get my parking pass, home, watch TV, then I went to work for a few hours. At least I can fatten up my bank account--which had me worried for a while, since it was getting pretty low, and I still have to buy my textbooks. So far, I know that two of them are going to set me back $79 each.

I was very glad to get my random check for 1,222 (or thereabouts) this afternoon. This pleases me, because now I can do the following things:(1) Buy my textbook (2) Buy my medication (I make a mental note to go to the pharmacy tomorrow) (3)rent videos from Blockbuster now and then, and finally (4) Hoard it.

See, I have this thing about hoarding money. I have a lot of stuff, and I love to shop, but I'm cheap.

And I may be cheap, but there are some things I would never do.

For instance, I would rather work for ten years to earn money for college tuition instead of joining the military. One of our new employees is starting her first year of college next week. Now she has discovered that she doesn't have enough money to pay for the tuition, and she's going to join the military this week (she has her physical tomorrow).

I seem to have problems with a little thing called war.

We (my mom and I) were talking about this, and we couldn't believe that she'd join the military...and our other new employee, who also told me she'd never join the military, no matter how much money she needed, said "She's so tiny! She told me she'd be flying, so that's good. If she was on the ground, she'd be in trouble, but if she's flying, at least she's just bombing people."

The idea of her joining the military also scares me, especially in this day and age. Frankly, I really wonder if this war is worth it. Let me deliberate.

No, not worth it.

Not worth the pain for the families.

Not worth the situations for the country.

By this, I mean increasing expenditures for the country, increasing the national debt. I don't care if Bush is cutting taxes--I seem to remember the aftermath of what his father did. (Remember: "Read my lips. No new taxes.")

Or has the country forgotten something called recession?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!