Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:12 a.m. - August 19, 2004
A day in the life.
Well, seems that my gold membership expired, and I'm too lazy (and a wee bit poor) at the moment to shell out some money for a new membership. You'll just have to deal, I suppose. I'll probably get back to gold eventually.

Anyhow, yesterday we had a power outage. This was fun, as it was 12:30 AM, and here I am, sitting in the bathroom--which has no windows--mind you. I'm fumbling about for toilet paper and trying not to knock over things, and wishing that it wasn't so darn dark in the bathroom. So I managed to stumble out, find a flashlight (good thing I did some cleaning, but didn't put away the flashlight.

The whole house was dark. Thank goodness for the flashlight, though. Then I went to bed. Around 3 AM, I wake up because my light in the corner turned itself on (it's one of those lights that has different settings--you turn the switch, one light goes on, you turn it again, another turns on, etc.) So of course I never turned it off last night, because there's no way I would have figured out how many lightbulbs I left on.

Yesterday my friends and I went to the comedy club, which was fun. One of the comedians noted that my friend had a wild laugh and picked on her for a little bit. J also responded to the headliner's comments about tampons, by yelling out that a certain brand "sucked" and they had this little dialogue about why this particular brand sucked. It was hysterical. No way would I have had the guts to do this.

I am so glad that I didn't raise my hand when one of the comedians asked if there were any people on dates (B came as well). That would have completely and utterly embarassed me. Totally. I feel bad for the very young couple he picked on. Totally embarassing cracks and questions about sex--and of course I am one of the most private people when it comes to my relationship(s). So yeah.

And one of my other friends, who is also hard of hearing, came too, and she spaced out sometime during the acts. She just wasn't paying attention, so I feel bad.

B's also still on the apartment hunt, and we saw one apartment yesterday which made me really freaked out. It was about 15 feet from a relatively nice city, and we pulled up to this dumpy looking place, but i'm willing to give it a chance--there are some places that look awful on the outside, but on the inside, they're okay. So we're looking for 2B when this man comes out of 9A or whatever--scary looking white guy with a beard and ugly clothes. He didn't look all there, and he asked what we were looking for, so we told him. He directed us to the other side of the building. As we're walking to the other side, there was a woman standing on the landing, eating a bag of potato chips or pork rinds or something. She was wearing one of those hippie type skirts and had one of those ugly jackets on, the really shiny sort. Sort of like the material that gym suits in the 80's and 90's were made of. She looked really creepy.

I'm thinking to myself, "oh my gosh. i hope B doesn't like this place." So we go to the apartment. They're putting in new carpet, the kitchenette looks absolutely filthy. we go upstairs to the bedroom, and I see the bathroom and I get the willies. It was absolutely disgusting. we left and i said, "that place gave me the creeps." He turned to me and said, "Me too."

So I said, "good thing our parents raised us to be afraid of germs and scary people like that."

"Yep."

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!